Unknown

DSC02813I’ve been busy the past few days and haven’t quite had the opportunity to sit down and write out a blog post, but after today’s adventures I knew I had to. So let me begin by catching you up on the past few days.

On Friday, I set off to see the Vietnam Veterans Memorial and a few other smaller monuments at the National Mall. However scoping out my route beforehand, I decided to stop at the White House first. Of course, I didn’t get very close, but I was close enough to snap a few pictures with my phone. While making my way to my next destination I was asked to take a picture by a man and his son, and received an interesting question. The lovely man asked if I happened to be a local of DC and if I knew any good things to see before I left. I was quick to tell him I was just here for the summer, but nevertheless I could definitely get used to being called a local.

Upon arriving to the Vietnam Veterans Memorial, I pulled out my camera and began snapping pictures. Only to find that I had forgotten to put my SD card back into my camera after downloading them onto my computer on Thursday. However do not fear, I then pulled out my phone to take pictures. After taking my time appreciating the wall of names of those who payed the ultimate sacrifice in the Vietnam war, I made my way to the Lincoln Memorial. Lucky for me a class of 5th graders stood on the steps in the front of the monument and one by one they took a stand at the podium located on the steps and began reciting parts of Martin Luther King Jr’s “I Have A Dream” speech. Children from all walks of life reciting the monumental speech left me speechless. Wanting to post it later, I began recording with my phone. Only to find that 33 seconds in, my phone had no more memory available. Talk about a bummer! However instead of getting upset, I took it as a sign to enjoy the day before me instead of stuck behind a camera.

After walking to a few more monuments and even taking a moment to sit down beneath a shady tree and read a part of a book, I began making my way to the opposite side of the National Mall. On my way, I stumbled upon the USDA Farmers Market which is only open on Fridays till 2 p.m. With the time being close to 1:55 p.m. I quickly perused the booths, and then returned to a booth I had my eye on to buy some blackberry jam from a nice gentleman from Pennsylvania (I have yet to try the jam, but I will be sure to let you know how it goes).

After a quick bite to eat, it was time to head back to the apartment to meet up with a friend I graduated with, who now lives in Arlington. Yep, that’s right. I know someone here! Yay! He had been home for a wedding and kindly brought me the things I had forgotten as well. Talk about a blessing! For kindly bringing me my things, I made dinner as a thank you. Yes, I can cook and no we didn’t die! Because if we had, then I wouldn’t have been bored majority of Saturday.

I say I was bored because the shuttle from the apartment complex to the Metro doesn’t run on the weekends and I am not yet brave enough to figure out the bus system. So I spent the day catching up on a little work and watching Netflix. I know, boring. Kindly enough my friend invited me to cookout with him and a few of his friends, which I gladly accepted to escape the confines of the apartment. Amusingly enough, none of them really knew how to grill on a charcoal grill. It was a very interesting time!

After our meal had been had, I was chauffeured home. I then began my search for the nearest church. The closest United Methodist Church in my area was 26 minutes by foot, no big deal right? Not exactly. Majority of my walk there was uphill and by the time I arrived I was sweating quite nicely. However the people of Calvary United Methodist Church made it all worth it. I was greeted by a very nice older gentlemen at the door who quickly ushered me in and began asking about myself. After revealing a little about why I was in D.C. for the summer and where I was from, he told me he was actually from Kentucky originally and had family in Tennessee. It’s odd how the world works. After receiving a welcome gift, I found a seat and waited for the service to begin. The sanctuary was absolutely gorgeous. The beautiful glass windows added color and character, the organ pipes were aligned behind the choir seats in an orderly fashion, and the people made it all the more better. I was surprised to find the congregation wasn’t ginormous, that it was a relatively smaller church for the area. While passing the peace, I met a nice woman who handed me her business card and told me if I ever needed anything to let her know and further invited me to a young professionals lunch held once a month. After evaluating her business card, I was surprised to find she works in communications and PR! Lucky me, not only do I meet wonderful people, but they are also interested in the same things as me. After a wonderful sermon by the pastor and the conclusion of the service, I was invited to coffee and snacks in the fellowship hall. Taking the offer, I met more wonderful people and enjoyed a light snack. I am now looking forward to the walk to the church every Sunday!

After church, I cleaned the apartment and began preparing for the big week. The week I start my internship! YAY!

Now to the current day. Memorial Day. My one goal today was to go to Arlington Cemetery and thankfully I did. It’s a good thing I have a friend here or I wouldn’t have had the chance. He was kind enough to drive me to the cemetery and then walk throughout and even take me on a tour to see more sights!

Majority of the morning was spent walking throughout Arlington Cemetery. Every headstone sporting its own American Flag. The line to the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier, weaving throughout and going on for what seemed like forever. There are many headstones with names and ranks throughout the cemetery, but there are also many headstones with the words “unknown” engraved upon them. Let us not forget the men and women whose names we do not know who gave up their lives, so that we could have ours. Let us not forget the families, who will never see their loved ones again, so that we could be with ours. We shouldn’t just be thankful one day of the year for these men and women who gave all. We should be thankful every day for them, because they paid the ultimate sacrifice for our country and our freedoms. We are so blessed to live in the land of the free because of the brave.

After visiting a few monuments and memorials I missed the other day at Arlington cemetery, we began our walk to Roosevelt Island. If I didn’t already think I was out of shape, then it was definitely confirmed on our walk there. However we finally made it and I definitely wasn’t disappointed. The statue of Teddy Roosevelt stood tall among the trees and surrounding him were fountains and pillars.The four pillars being – Nature, Manhood, Youth, and The State. On each of the pillars were quotes, which related to each.

Hungry and in desperate need of water, we made our way back. Stopping at Wiseguy NY Pizza, we were greeted by the delicious smells and 40’s music. Not only was the pizza delicious but the pizzeria had a very cool vibe. It was definitely a good decision on our part.

After finally making it back to the vehicle, I was taken to my home away from home, where I began preparing for tomorrow. Tomorrow is the day I begin my internship. I may be nervous, but I have my power outfit ironed and ready, my lunch packed, and my purse is packed with all the necessities. Let’s hope all goes well tomorrow!

Days 5, 6, 7 & 8: Not too shabby if I do say so myself

Leave a Reply

